On Thursday, I was by myself just looking at the art gallery when one of Mark’s friends approaches me to ask me if I had talked to a classmate yet. He introduced me to Mark. I realized that I had Mark in my Criminal Justice class last year. I remembered him as the guy who got shot at Texas because he shared that during class. Well his full name is Mark Flores. He is originally from East Los Angeles but he has lived in several places. As a baby, he lived in East L.A and then he moved to Lancaster for 7 years up until he was 10 years old. After Lancaster, He lived in Houston, Texas for 2 years and then he moved to Guadalajara, Mexico for another 2 years. Finally he moved back to California and he has been here for 5 years now. He currently lives in Newport Beach.

He is 20 years old and he is a second year like me except I am 19 years old. He has played baseball since he was 4 years old all the way up to his junior year in high school. His current hobby is boxing and he has been doing it for 7 months now and he plans to fight in the amateurs soon. He works as a server at a cafe in Newport almost full time and he is a full time student as well. He has a girlfriend who he has been with for 2 years and a half. Fun fact: she is from England. Mark is Hispanic. His mom is Spanish from Spain and his dad is Mexican-American from L.A. He has made the deans list for both semesters so far and he enjoys school and learning new things very much. He is a criminal justice major who hopes to become a law enforcement officer in City of Newport Beach or surrounding cities. He would either like to be a city cop or a CHP ( California Highway Patrol). If for some reason he does not like law enforcement or it does not work out, his backup plan is to go to law school and hopefully become a lawyer. It was really nice actually meeting Mark since I knew who he was from last year. Mark believes that tattoo is art only when when there is true meaning behind it. He feels like a lot of people get tattoos as an attempt at being cool, or looking cool. He thinks that it is fine as well and that means it comes down to personal preference. If his career choice was not affected by having tattoos on his body, then he most likely get tattoos.

IMG_6746

Mark’s website:

http://markrobertfloresjr.com/

